Bear’s Mill rests in the woods along Greenville Creek. Opened in 1849, Bear’s Mill is one of the few water-powered flour mills still operating in Ohio. Currently managed by the Friends of Bear’s Mill, the mill serves as a combination working gristmill, museum, and art gallery. Since 1975, Bear’s Mill has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places and, just this year, Bear’s Mill was named the best Historical Site in Ohio by Ohio Magazine.
The original owner of the mill, Gabriel Baer, imported buhr grindstones from France, which are still in use today. The stones coarsely grind wheat, corn, spelt, and buckwheat. Stone grinding preserves many of the nutrients in the grain, which are destroyed by modern milling processes.
The stone-ground flours and meal produced at the mill, as well as baked goods made from Bear’s Mill flours, gourmet foods, and kitchenware are available at the Mill Store. The Mill Gallery displays artwork by Ohio Valley artists. The Mill Potters also have gorgeous handmade pottery on display and available for purchase.
Visitors to Bear’s Mill can tour all four floors of the building, learn the history of the area, and discover how the mill operates. The beautiful wooded grounds allow visitors to view wildlife and the nearby dam on Greenville Creek. Public art receptions, open houses, and holiday candlelight walks are offered yearly. Bear’s Mill has something for everyone, whether visitors are interested in history, local food, farming, or art
6450 Arcanum-Bears Mill Road, Greenville, OH
January–March: Thur–Sat 11am–5pm; Sun 1pm–5pm
April–December: Tues–Sat 11am–5pm; Sun 1pm–5pm
Grinding demonstrations on Saturday at 2pm
Julie publishes Edible Ohio Valley with her family. After 15 years in the world of commercial photography, her lens is now focused on recording the sustainability movement in the Midwest. A graduate of UC’s College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning, she’s a partner and co-founder of The Fairview Agency, a multidisciplinary creative firm.